New year, new boating lawsPosted on
The new year brings with it new laws, including those governing boating. Here’s a sampling of some of the new regulations that will affect boaters this year:
In New Hampshire, a new speed limit went into place on Lake Winnipesaukee. The new law imposes limits of 45 mph during the day and 25 mph at night for a two-year evaluation period.
In South Carolina, a state law that went into effect in December makes it a crime to abandon a watercraft on public lands or waters for more than 45 days. If a boat has been moored, stranded, wrecked or is sinking or sunk and has been left unattended, the state can remove it at the owner’s expense. Penalties include fines between $1,000 and $5,000 or up to 30 days in jail.
Also in South Carolina, the price of watercraft and outboard decals and duplicate registration cards increased from $1 to $5. Late fees of up to $30 can be charged to those who don’t register within 60 days of purchase.
In North Carolina, charter fishing-boat operators are now allowed to purchase a block of 10, 10-day coastal recreational fishing licenses for their customers.
By June, New Jersey boaters will be required to pass a boating safety course approved by the state’s marine police.
Welcome to TradeOnlyToday’s premium content! To continue reading, please register now, for access to 10 free stories per month. Or subscribe, for unlimited access to all TradeOnlyToday content!
Basic subscription: Registered members get free access to 10 premium content stories each month!
Individual subscription: $29 for unlimited site access for one year.
Small Business subscription: $140 for unlimited site access for up to 10 members of a company for one year.
Corporate subscription: $300 for unlimited site access for all members of a company for one year.
You may close this dialog after seconds.