Critics decry boat tax in MainePosted on
Boat owners in Maine, who buy their boats in other states, but use them in Maine, may find an unexpected tax bill in their mailbox.
Maine Revenue Services says boat owners must pay a use tax of up to 5 percent if they bought their boat in another state that doesn’t require sales taxes for boats, brought it into Maine within the first year of ownership and had it available to use for at least 30 days, The Associated Press reports.
Critics claim the tax and its strict enforcement are having a chilling effect on boaters and discouraging tourism.
A retired Maine businessman thought he was helping the local economy in 2005 when he spent more than $100,000 in Portland, Maine on repairs to his 72-foot yacht, newly purchased in Florida.
But, more than a year later, Tom Toye III received a $60,000 bill from Maine Revenue Services for “use taxes” on the boat.
Toye appealed and later sued the state tax assessor, claiming the vessel shouldn’t be taxed in Maine. Last week, he lost his case in Maine Superior Court. With interest and penalties accruing, he says the bill has grown to about $120,000.
“I’m just infuriated about the whole thing,” Toye told The Associated Press.
Welcome to TradeOnlyToday’s premium content! To continue reading, please register now, for access to 10 free stories per month. Or subscribe, for unlimited access to all TradeOnlyToday content!
Basic subscription: Registered members get free access to 10 premium content stories each month!
Individual subscription: $29 for unlimited site access for one year.
Small Business subscription: $140 for unlimited site access for up to 10 members of a company for one year.
Corporate subscription: $300 for unlimited site access for all members of a company for one year.
You may close this dialog after seconds.