Skip to main content

IBEX Names Award Judging Panel


International BoatBuilders’ Exhibition and Conference organizers said the winners of the Innovation Awards will be announced during the virtual show’s opening session, and they named the the judging panel.

“The Innovation Awards program recognizes and rewards new-product development, and they’re an integral part of IBEX, so we will deliver these prestigious awards on the opening day as we normally do, in an online presentation within the virtual event,” show director Anne Dunbar said in a statement.

The judges are:

• Chair, Zuzana Prochazka Boating Writers International executive director

• Co-Chair, Ben Stein, editor of

• Brady Kay, executive editor of Pontoon & Deck Boat magazine

• Ed Sherman, former vice president of the American Boat and Yacht Council

• Capt. Greg Thornton, AYBC-certified technician

There are 16 award categories:

• Boat Care and Maintenance

• Boatbuilding Methods and Materials

• Boatyard and Marina Hardware and Software

• Coverings

• Deck Equipment and Hardware

• Electrical Systems

• Entertainment

• Furnishings and Interior Parts

• Inboard Engines

• Lighting

• Mechanical Systems

• OEM Electronics

• Outboard Engines

• Propulsion Parts, Propellers

• Safety Equipment

• Trailers, Parts and Trailer Accessories

“We look forward to sharing the industry’s innovation with the entire IBEX community and are hoping for record-setting submissions,” Dunbar said. “We are eager to see what our exhibitors have to offer this year.”



ABYC, IBEX To Host Student Career Day

More than 70 students from five Florida schools with marine trade interests will attend IBEX this year to join seminars, tour the exhibition floor and network with exhibitors.


Marine Travelift Appoints Executive VP

Kurt Minten is the company’s longest-tenured employee, with 36 years of combined engineering and sales experience.


Simrad Partners for Sustainable Boating

Using C-Map cartography, the Green Assistant system is designed to curtail wastewater discharges in prohibited areas.


Kenect Acquires Friendemic

The transaction allows Kenect to leverage its business texting platform with Friendemic’s software-as-a-service model.


Two Inducted into NMMA Hall of Fame

Former William Miller & Associates CEO and principal Joe Miller and Smoker Craft president and CEO Doug Smoker will be honored in a ceremony next week at IBEX.


NMTA Steps up To Boost Boating

The Northwest Marine Trade Association is awarding $1,000 Discover Boating grants to entities that promote boating in the region.


Freedom Boat Club Expands European Footprint

Windermere and Torquay are the first U.K. locations for the Brunswick subsidiary, which now has 33 locations across the United Kingdom, France and Spain.