International Cruising Boat Expo comes to Connecticut in June - Trade Only Today

International Cruising Boat Expo comes to Connecticut in June

The publishers of PassageMaker and Sail magazines are launching the International Cruising Boat Expo June 2-7 at Brewer Essex Island Marina in Essex, Conn.
Author:
Publish date:

The publishers of PassageMaker and Sail magazines are launching the International Cruising Boat Expo, a new event for New England, June 2-7 at Brewer Essex Island Marina in Essex, Conn.

The event will be in the tradition of TrawlerFest, PassageMaker’s combination of educational seminars, cruising boat show and social gathering.

PassageMaker, Sail and Soundings Trade Only are owned by Active Interest Media. AIM Marine Group, the magazines’ parent company, decided on the new name to broaden the event’s appeal.

Defining a trawler has always been a slippery undertaking, and some manufacturers of power cruising boats have been reluctant to market their brands under the trawler heading because they associated the word with slow, full-displacement vessels.

AIM Marine Group also sought to have a strong sailing component to the show, and in fact, all but a handful of the seminars would benefit sailors and power cruisers equally.

Aside from the name, the event will have all of the hallmarks of TrawlerFest, including dozens of new and used sail and power cruising boats displayed in the water. The boat show portion of the ICBE begins on June 4 and runs through June 7.

Registration is open for the event.

Related

E-nnovation Lab to expand at 2018 Metstrade show

The growing demand for hybrid and electric engines is becoming more apparent within the leisure marine market, prompting Metstrade to introduce the E-nnovation Lab platform for electric propulsion technology.

Aluminum, tow boats lead moderate growth in May

Boat registrations were up 2.1 percent in May in the main powerboat categories, and rose 3.2 percent in all categories, according to preliminary data from Statistical Surveys Inc., a Michigan company that tracks new boat registrations.

Retaliatory tariffs on boats to EU start today

The 25 percent tariff the EU announced Wednesday on U.S.-built boats kicks in today, and a 10 percent tariff on boats sold to Canada will start July 1, prompting boatbuilders to worry they will lose sales to those countries.