Judges named for IBEX Innovation Awards


The National Marine Manufacturers Association and Boating Writers International announced the judges for the 2010 IBEX Innovation Awards, which will be presented during the coming International Boat Builders' Exhibition & Conference.

Award winners will be recognized at 7:30 a.m. Sept. 28 during the annual IBEX Industry Breakfast at the Kentucky Exposition Center.

This is the eighth year since the NMMA and Professional BoatBuilder magazine combined resources to jointly produce what has become the marine industry's largest trade show.

The Innovation Awards judges' committee is composed of BWI members who perform product testing throughout the year and have specific expertise in marine OEM products and equipment. The committee is chaired by Alan Wendt, editor of Marine CEO.

Rounding out the panel of judges for this year's IBEX Innovation Awards are:

  • Zuzana Prochazka, editor, TalkoftheDock.com; technical editor, Latitudes & Attitudes; and blogger for Boatermouth.com
  • Frank Lanier, marine surveyor and contributor to Practical Sailor and Southern Boating
  • Dave Mull, editor, Great Lakes Angler
  • Alan Jones, executive editor, Boating World magazine
  • Tom Tripp, freelancer, publisher and editor, OceanLines
  • Chris Caswell, author and senior editor, Yachting Magazine

The NMMA and BWI will recognize as many as 13 new products, plus one Environmental Award, at IBEX 2010.

Exhibiting companies can submit products for consideration in the following categories:

  • Boatbuilding Methods and Materials
  • Deck Equipment and Hardware
  • Furnishings & Interior Parts
  • Mechanical Systems
  • Electrical Systems
  • Inboard Engines
  • Outboard Engines
  • Boatyard Hardware
  • Propulsion Parts, Propellers
  • Boat Care and Maintenance
  • OEM Electronics
  • Trailers, Parts and Trailer Accessories
  • Safety Equipment

The submission deadline for entries is Sept. 2.

Click here to download an application form. Contact Melissa Gurniewicz at (312) 946-6281 or mgurniewicz@nmma.org for information about the IBEX 2010 Innovation Awards.


ABYC Foundation Seeks Nominations for Educator Award

The award recognizes “an outstanding instructor who is shaping future marine service technicians.”

P.R. Firm Rushton Gregory Signs ePropulsion

The Chinese manufacturer of electric propulsion products introduced a standardized lineup earlier this year.

Dometic Updates Pro-Trim System

The new design allows boaters to trim the outboard and adjust the jack plate without removing their hands from the wheel.

Brunswick Partners with Carnegie Robotics

Through the alliance, Brunswick aims to enhance its autonomous technology offerings.

Nicole Vasilaros to Depart NMMA

The group credits the senior vice president of government and legal affairs for “countless contributions to the protection and expansion of the recreational boating industry.”

Site Unseen

A website is often the first interaction a customer will have with a dealership, but it must provide more than an online brochure or they will click elsewhere.

C.G. Amends Documentation Rules

Federally documenting a boat now must be done every five years, rather than annually.

The 2021 Top 10 Most Innovative Marine Companies Awards

The marine industry consistently honors products and people. The industry, however, has not recognized forward-thinking companies that are moving the industry in new directions. Soundings Trade Only’s mission is to reflect, inform and inspire.