MIASF hands out annual awards - Trade Only Today

MIASF hands out annual awards


The Marine Industries Association of South Florida presented Kristina Hebert with its 2009 Golden Anchor Award during its annual meeting and awards reception last weekend.

The award recognizes an individual for lifetime achievement and extraordinary accomplishment benefiting the marine industry. Hebert is vice president of her family's business, Ward's Marine Electric, and past president of the MIASF.

She was honored for her advocacy, leadership of the association and her dedication to the successful exemption of the recreational marine industry from the Longshore and Harbor Workers Compensation Act. The measure was signed into law in February by President Obama as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestement Act.

The MIASF also presented Awards of Excellence to Michell Merhige of Advanced Mechanical Enterprises, Julie Balzano of Enterprise Florida, and John Mann of Bluewater Books & Charts for their contributions to the marine industry during the past year. (Merhige was hit by a car and killed while jogging in France weeks before the reception.)

Wayne Huizenga Jr. was presented with the 2009 Project of the Year Award for his newly remodeled Rybovich megayacht marina.

"This has been an outstanding year of accomplishments for the MIASF, and each of this year's award recipients has helped make these successes possible by dedicating their time, energy and support to making our goals a reality," said MIASF executive director Frank Herhold in a statement.

Click here for the full release.


FarSounder Argos Series of Forward Looking Sonar

This video is an introduction and overview of the FarSounder Argos 3D Forward Looking Sonar (3D-FLS) navigation products. This video explains the components of the system and how they function. It also describes the most common features of FarSounder's SonaSoft™ processing software and how they are displayed on the user interface.