Paddle-sports permit fee set for defeat in Oregon

A bill that would have established a permit fee for paddlers in Oregon is unlikely to pass the state legislature this year.
Author:
Publish date:
The Oregon bill would assign paddle-sports permits to individuals. They could use any kayak or canoe. Photo courtesy of West Marine.

The Oregon bill would assign paddle-sports permits to individuals. They could use any kayak or canoe. Photo courtesy of West Marine.

A bill that would have established a permit fee for paddlers in Oregon is unlikely to pass the state legislature this year.

The bill, HB 2320, has not been scheduled for a key work session, and therefore has stalled in the legislature. The $12 annual or $20 biannual permit would be assigned to an individual, who could then use any kayak or canoe.

Fees would have funded a Nonmotorized Boating Program to provide safety education, dedicated infrastructure and safety enforcement, according to the National Marine Manufacturers Association.

Casualties, demands for infrastructure and safety instruction needs of paddlers have risen dramatically in recent years.

Without new funding, the Oregon State Marine Board will continue to prioritize funding of infrastructure needs based on which user group provided the necessary funds.

Motorized boating needs receive the highest priority, followed by mixed-use facilities. In recent years there has been no budget available to build dedicated paddle-sports facilities.

Related