Skip to main content

ABYC details new certification requirements

In response to member surveys, the American Boat and Yacht Council announced enhancements to its certification programs.

In response to member surveys, the American Boat and Yacht Council announced enhancements to its certification programs.

The changes include the introduction of continuing education units, documented work experience and the addition of certification categories to better associate the type of work being done with each certification type.

The ABYC is introducing CEU program requirements, similar to other familiar industries, including the automotive repair service industry. Obtained CEUs will demonstrate commitment to professional development and excellence while keeping up with new technology.

To keep costs down for certified technicians, the ABYC will provide enough CEUs at no additional cost throughout the five-year period. The ABYC also will accept CEUs from other organizations, such as the Society of Accredited Marine Surveyors, the National Association of Marine Surveyors, the International BoatBuilders’ Exposition & Conference session attendance and many OEM engine- and product-training programs.

Relevant military training and experience also can be applied to meet some of these requirements.

“With the technology used on modern boats changing as rapidly as it is, ABYC feels that continuing education is now more than ever a mandatory requirement for maintaining an ABYC certification,” ABYC vice president and education director Ed Sherman said in a statement. “To meet the needs of the new boat owner, technicians need to stay at the top of their game, and we will support them in that effort.”

To become certified, a professional has to establish eligibility through education and work experience. The ABYC will require two years of documented work experience in order to achieve the gold standard as an ABYC certified technician; passing the certification exam is also required.

Certifications are now split into three categories: technician certification, advisory certification and associate certification. To read more about those, visit the ABYC education page.

“By offering three categories of certification, employers as well as the boating public will be able to differentiate between highly experienced technicians, individuals relatively new to the trade and those at an advisory level,” Sherman said. “This should help to further maximize the customer experience.”



Shoring Up Your Defenses

Marine businesses are just as open to cyberattacks as all kinds of other businesses in nearly every industry


Hinckley Unveils SilentJet

Hinckley Yachts teamed up with Wisconsin-based transmission-maker Twin Disc to create a hybrid electric system called SilentJet that can switch automatically from diesel to electric power, depending on how much throttle you use.


Q&A with David Foulkes and Alexandra Cattelan

After divesting its well-known bowling, billiards and fitness brands, Brunswick Corp. emerged as a boating-focused conglomerate, with familiar brands including Sea Ray, Boston Whaler, Bayliner, Protector, Lowe Boats, Mercury Marine, and Freedom Boat Club.


Finding the Next Buyers

Discover Boating commissioned a research study to fine-tune targeting efforts in marketing.

Insider Access

My hope is to include at least one insider story in every issue of Soundings Trade Only to provide a look at corners of the trade that some folks might not know exist.


How to Create a Great Workplace

With insights gleaned from more than 16,000 individual industry employee satisfaction surveys, the Marine Retailers Association of the Americas has gained new understanding and answers of how to drive employee engagement.


Two Secrets to Getting Results

Any leader can give reasons for failing to achieve acceptable results. The best leaders overcome inevitable challenges, and some of those leaders make it look easy. Some seem to drive results effortlessly, while others struggle.


Industry Pushes Back Against Speed Restrictions

A NOAA Fisheries proposal would restrict boats 35 feet and larger to a 10-knot speed limit along the East Coast to protect right whales from vessel strikes.