ABYC elects 2017 officers and new board members

Publish date:
Updated on

The American Boat & Yacht Council announced the election of three new members to its board of directors at its 63rd annual meeting and the election of four officers.

The meeting also included an awards presentation to recognize ABYC members who have provided exceptional service to the marine industry.

Joining the board are Christina Paul, of K&L Gates LLC; David Johnson, of Power Products LLC; and Elio Betty, of BoatUS.

Dave Marlow, who has been board chairman for the past four years, introduced the new members.

“ABYC’s incoming leadership team brings with it a unique opportunity for ABYC to address two of its strongest user segments; the marine surveying community and marine repair and service dealers,” said Marlow in a statement. “We continually attract board members that are standout leaders in their various pursuits — leading ABYC’s mission to maximize customer satisfaction with the boating experience through safety standards, service and repair.”

Marlow will become past chairman; Kenneth Weinbrecht was elected incoming board chairman. Weinbrecht is the president of Ocean Bay Marine Services, a charter member of the Society of Accredited Marine Surveyors and a certified marine surveyor of the National Association of Marine Surveyors.

“Having been a member of ABYC for over 30 years, I am extremely humbled and proud to have been elected to the position of chairman of the executive committee,” Weinbrecht said.

“My predecessor, Dave Marlow, has been an instrumental asset to the success of ABYC’s direction and success. The standards industry is changing on a daily basis, and ABYC will be in the forefront of these changes for the benefit of its members; the executive committee is excited about being a part of this challenge.”

Other elected officers include: Ward Eshleman of Ward’s Marine Electric Inc., vice chairman; Pete Chisholm of Mercury Marine, technical chairman; and Nancy Cueroni of the National Marine Distributors Association, treasurer.

The awards ceremony included a new ABYC award, the Bolling Douglas Memorial Award, to honor one of the ABYC’s most vocal supporters, who passed away in 2016.

The annual award will be presented to the female member of ABYC who best exemplifies the life of Bolling Douglas through the advancement of safety, education and standards in recreational boating.

ABYC presented the first Bolling Douglas Memorial Award to Becky Smith, of Sea Ray Boats.

The ABYC Service Award was given to E. Charles Game, and the ABYC Horizon Award went to Cricket Holt. The ABYC also recognized retiring board members George Bellwoar and Dave Slobodien.