ABYC names new board

Publish date:

The American Boat & Yacht Council held its annual meeting in Seattle and elected new members to the board of directors. At the event, the organization also held an awards presentation.

Christina Paul from K&L Gates was named secretary of the board of directors. Derek Rhymes from All Boats Marine Surveys and Lia Jaros from the Marine Trades Association of Maryland also joined the board.

“ABYC’s efforts in industry education have had a great impact on workforce development nationwide and that impact is tracked to increase,” Jaros said in a statement. “I look forward to providing on-the-ground insight to the decision-making process and working alongside some of the most dedicated leaders in the industry.”

Added Rhymes, “I first became aware of the American Boat & Yacht Council and the standards which they develop over 30 years ago. I have been witness to the amazing growth in the organization’s role as a global industry leader and it’s an honor to be part of such a dynamic group of people dedicate to improving boating safety, including the professional staff at ABYC and the multitude of volunteers from within the industry.”

The new board of directors comprises: Ward Eshelman of Ward’s Marine Electric Inc., chair; Nancy Cueroni, National Marine Distributors Association, vice chair; Jeff Wasil, BRP, treasurer; Pete Chisolm, Mercury Marine, technical chair and; Kenneth Weinbrecht, Ocean-Bay Marine Services, past chair.

In the awards presentation, the ABYC Lifetime Service Award was presented to William Drake and Arthur J. “Bret” Bretnall, Jr. Richard Kolb and Denzil Hellesen received the ABYC Service Award and Thomas Marhevko was presented the ABYC Horizon Award. The Bolling Fortson Douglas Memorial Award, which recognizes a female ABYC member dedicated to the marine industry, went to Belinda Emerson.


Brunswick Partners with Carnegie Robotics

Through the alliance, Brunswick aims to enhance its autonomous technology offerings.

Nicole Vasilaros to Depart NMMA

The group credits the senior vice president of government and legal affairs for “countless contributions to the protection and expansion of the recreational boating industry.”

Site Unseen

A website is often the first interaction a customer will have with a dealership, but it must provide more than an online brochure or they will click elsewhere.

C.G. Amends Documentation Rules

Federally documenting a boat now must be done every five years, rather than annually.

The 2021 Top 10 Most Innovative Marine Companies Awards

The marine industry consistently honors products and people. The industry, however, has not recognized forward-thinking companies that are moving the industry in new directions. Soundings Trade Only’s mission is to reflect, inform and inspire.

German Superyacht Yard Files for Bankruptcy

Nobiskrug cited a lack of orders, the Covid-19 pandemic and other factors in its decision to start the proceedings.

West Marine Acquired

The private-equity firm L Catterton will take a controlling interest in the retailer’s ownership.

Kicker Supports Two Events on Lake Havasu

The marine audio company will take part in the performance-boat events Super Cat Fest West and the Desert Storm Poker Run this weekend and next.

Bay Bridge Show Starts Tomorrow

The combined sail- and powerboat show runs through Sunday in Stevensville, Md.