Composites association hands out awards - Trade Only Today

Composites association hands out awards

Publish date:
Social count:

The American Composites Manufacturers Association announced its annual member awards this week at Composites 2012 in Las Vegas.

Each year since 1988, the current association president recognizes one person with the President’s Award. This year, association president Lori Luchak chose to honor Leon Garoufalis, president and chief operating officer of Composites One. Garoufalis is vice president of the trade group’s executive committee and co-chairman of its Composite Growth Initiative.

The recipient of the association’s Lifetime Achievement Award was Richard Higgins, president of HK Research. Higgins has served on the boards and executive committees of both the ACMA and the International Cast Polymer Alliance. An instructor for the Certified Composites Technician program, he helped develop the manuals for the Cast Polymer CCT certification.

The 2012 Hall of Fame inductees are Pete Emrich, vice president of technology for Molded Fiber Glass Cos., and Jack Simmons, vice president of sales at ACS International.

Three men were cited as the association’s Outstanding Volunteers. They are: John Wilcox, of North American Composites; Matt Parmental, of Performance Composites; and Michael Stevens, senior staff scientist at Ashland Performance Materials, a division of Ashland Inc.


Anglers help fisheries management in Gulf

Angler participation has led the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission for the first time ever to be able to manage the harvest of recreational red snapper in both state and federal waters in the Gulf of Mexico.

NMMA: Bad trade policies are piling up

President Trump announced a new round of tariffs on China that would affect marine components being imported from there, further jeopardizing strong growth in the industry, said the National Marine Manufacturers Association.