Freedom Boat Club hands out franchisee awards

Franchise of the Year winner Bobby Parker and his team are shown with Freedom Boat Club President and CEO John Giglio (second from right).

Franchise of the Year winner Bobby Parker and his team are shown with Freedom Boat Club President and CEO John Giglio (second from right).

Freedom Boat Club presented 12 achievement awards at its national franchise conference, which was held Dec. 7-10 in Duck Key, Fla.

“Our franchisees are enjoying record-breaking performances all across the country, and we are very pleased to recognize the very best of the best,” FBC CEO John Giglio said in a statement.

“Our conference this year was the largest in history in terms of participation, along with the number of awards presented. Already 2016 is shaping up to be a tremendous year and growth opportunity for our franchise organization.”

Bobby Parker, from the Daytona Beach and New Smyrna Beach clubs, won Franchise of the Year after winning Rookie of the Year last year. The company said Parker doubled sales and membership in one year while opening a second location.

A new series of awards were given this year to recognize top-tier clubs for performance and the top percentage of revenue growth.

The Pacesetter Awards were given six franchisees: Daytona Beach/New Smyrna; Lake Norman, N.C.; Massachusetts; San Diego; Tampa Bay; and Lake Austin/Texas.

The Highest Percentage of Revenue Increase award was won by a California club based in San Diego and owned by Dan Hausbrouck and Jennifer Cirillo. The company said Hausbrouck and Cirillo posted a 1,000 percent increase in sales and boosted membership significantly during their two years in business.

The Marketer of the Year award was won by Lisa Almeida and Kevin Seelig of Jacksonville and St. Augustine, Fla., and was presented by FBC chief marketing officer Wanda Kenton Smith.

The Marketing Brand Champion award was given to Karen Berry of The Grand Strand in South Carolina.

The 2015 Rookie of the Year award was presented to Andrew Hard of Huntington Beach, Calif.

Guardian of Reciprocity, the award given to the club owner who most warmly welcomes and embraces “reciprocal” club members and delivers an exceptional member experience, went to Dan Kettelson, Brandon Rex and Brian Gwinnup of Freedom Boat Club North Gulf Coast. Reciprocal membership allows members to boat in club locations throughout the country, above and beyond their home club location.

The Territory Expansion Award was given to Glenn Bergoffen of Tampa Bay, which the company said recently opened its tenth Florida location, in Tierra Verde.


Polaris Names CEO and CFO

Previously interim executives, Michael Speetzen was named the CEO and Bob Mack the CFO of the Minnesota-based powersports company.

Sanlorenzo Reports Q1 Financials

The Italian builder continues to gain market share and expects to debut five models at Cannes in September and launch three new lines in 2022.

New Hope for Killing Algae Blooms

Researchers are experimenting with injecting ozone nanobubbles into waterways that burst and cut off the algae’s food supply.

Mercury’s Impact on the Local Economy

A new study shows that the manufacturer has a more than $5 billion annual impact on the Fond du Lac, Wis., community.

Lippert Posts Record Q1

The quarter marked a “watershed moment” for the component supplier, as net sales hit $1 billion.