Gold medalist honored with sailing leadership award


Paralympic gold medalist Maureen McKinnon-Tucker was honored with the annual Leadership in Women's Sailing Award during last week's Women's Sailing Conference in Marblehead, Mass.

The award, co-sponsored by BoatU.S. and the National Women's Sailing Association, honors a male or female who has a record of achievement in giving something back to the sailing community as well as inspiring and educating women.

"Maureen's indomitable spirit and upbeat attitude are the essence of what leadership is all about," said Elaine Dickinson, coordinator of the BoatU.S. Women in Boating initiative, in presenting the award. "She turned adversity into achievement and inspires everyone who meets her or hears her story."

McKinnon-Tucker was left partially paralyzed more than a decade ago after falling off a seawall. Nevertheless, she has pursued competitive sailing. She was the first woman named to the U.S. disabled sailing team and won a silver medal in the 2007 world championship. She then won a gold medal in the Beijing Paralympic Games in 2008, along with the late Nick Scandone in the SKUD 18 class.

She also has served on numerous boards and committees advocating for those with spinal cord injuries and is a peer mentor for those recently disabled. She is the adaptive sailing coordinator at the Piers Park Sailing Center in Boston.

She was featured in the "Top Women in American Boating" article in the May 2009 issue of BoatU.S. Magazine.

Click here for the full release.


PressureMate Introduces On-Board Pressure Washer

The 12-volt system has a patent-pending plunger design that produces 600 psi of pressure.

ABYC Introduces Entry-Level Certification

The Marine Service Technology program now includes a year-end exam to help launch students into marine-industry careers.

IBEX Calls for Innovation Award Entries

The NMMA-managed program is accepting new-product submissions through Aug. 13.

Pocket Yacht Opens in N.C.

The Cutwater and Ranger Tugs dealer opened in New Bern, its third East Coast location.

Trawlerfest Scheduled for Newport

Passagemaker magazine’s signature event runs Aug. 24-28 at Newport Shipyard in Rhode Island.

Our Most Critical Federal Program Needs Your Support

The Sport Fish Restoration and Boating Trust Fund is up for renewal. Ask Congress to support its reauthorization.

KVH Introduces TracPhone LTE-1

The new communications system provides connectivity up to 20 miles offshore in more than 150 countries.