Judges named for Innovation Awards


The National Marine Manufacturers Association and Boating Writers International announced judges for the 2011 Miami International Boat Show and Strictly Sail Innovation Awards.

The awards will be presented during the NMMA State of the Recreational Boating Industry Breakfast at 7:30 a.m. Feb. 17 at the Miami Beach Convention Center.

The annual Innovation Awards honor the most original boats and consumer products and are the boating industry's highest honor for product excellence.

The Innovation Awards judges' committee is composed of BWI members who perform product testing throughout the year and have expertise in marine products and equipment. The committee's chairman is Alan Wendt, editor of Marine CEO.

Rounding out the panel of judges for this year's Miami International Boat Show & Strictly Sail Innovation Awards are:

  • Zuzana Prochazka, president, BWI; editor, TalkoftheDock.com; technical editor, Latitudes & Attitudes; and blogger for Boatermouth.com
  • Diane Byrne, editor, Megayacht News; contributor to Superyacht Business, Super Yacht World, and Yachting; blogger for BoaterMouth.com
  • Roger McAfee, contributor to Pacific Yachting, Sea, Southern Boating, Lakeland Boating and ShowBoats International magazines
  • Robert Buller, equipment editor for Pacific Yachting
  • Lenny Rudow, content editor for EarthSports.com; electronics editor for Boat U.S. and Marlin; blogger for BoaterMouth.com; freelancer
  • Jack Horner, naval architect, certified marine surveyor and contributor to BoatU.S., SpinSheet, Offshore, Sailing and Chesapeake Bay magazines.

Click here for the full release.


Sea Tow Saves Cold-Stunned Turtles

Its Corpus Christi outfit is rescuing turtles that were affected by the deep freeze in Texas.

Southern Marinas Sells Portfolio

The group had made six acquisitions last year and had a total of 12 properties under its umbrella.

2020 Neptune Award Winners Named

The annual marketing awards drew 129 entries in 20 categories.

‘A Great Start to 2021’

An onslaught of new and returning customers kept dealers busy in what is typically a slower time of year.

Nautique Names VP of Sales

Rick Skinner joins the Correct Craft subsidiary after 30-plus years with water-sports equipment manufacturer HO Sports.

MarineMax Expands Territories for Cruisers, MJM

The dealership will offer the brands at several of its locations, including Boston, Baltimore, Jacksonville and Charleston.

Groupe Beneteau Hacked

The breach was detected last week, resulting in a full network shutdown and production stoppage at several locations.