Leaders named for Congressional Boating Caucus

Publish date:

U.S. Reps. Candice Miller, R-Mich., and Joe Donnelly, D-Ind., will serve as co-chairs for the Congressional Boating Caucus in the 112th Congress.

The caucus is an informal, bipartisan group of senators and House members that the National Marine Manufacturers Association formed in 1989 to advocate for the recreational boating industry.

"Representatives Miller and Donnelly have been active champions for marine manufacturers in the House of Representatives, and so it is only fitting that they lead the caucus in this new Congress," NMMA president Thom Dammrich said in a statement. "We thank them for their dedication and leadership and look forward to working with them on the issues that not only impact the nearly 70 million boaters on the water, but hundreds of thousands of marine industry employees."

Miller and Donnelly also will speak May 5 at the American Boating Congress.

"As lifelong boater I know the important role the marine and boating industry plays in many of our nation's communities. I have been proud to be a part of this bipartisan caucus for years and am pleased to once again co-chair this group of members," Miller said in a statement.

"Boating has long been a favorite American pastime and the industry strengthens our nation's manufacturing sector," Donnelly added in a statement. "I look forward to working with my colleagues in the House to raise awareness and promote the priorities of boaters, both recreational and commercial, as well as those of the boating industry."