Marine Trades Association of New Jersey elects board

Publish date:

The Marine Trades Association of New Jersey held its Annual Dinner & Elections at Doolan’s Shore Club in Spring Lake, N.J. and elected its 2018-19 officers.

Jim Cerrutti of Fair Haven Yacht Works in Fair Haven, N.J., will continue as president and Ed McCarthy of McCarthy’s Marine Sales in Brielle will continue as vice president. Brian Fischer of MESCO in Thorofore remains as second vice president while Ed Harrison, III, of Baywood Marina in Brick stays on as treasurer and Raymond Bogan of Sinn, Fitzsimmons, Cantoli, Bogan, West & Steuerman in Point Pleasant Beach continues as secretary.

“As I start my second term as president, it is important to stay vigilant at all times and be prepared to protect the interests of our members,” said Cerrutti in a statement. “Operating a business from day to day is difficult enough. On top of that comes the fast pace of change in technology, environmental concerns and new regulations. The Marine Trades Association of New Jersey not only promotes our industry through first-class boat shows but also helps our members navigate the complex challenges that affect their business.”

He continued, “The current board of directors, active past presidents, executive director and staff are some of the most dedicated professionals that I have had the opportunity to work with on a daily basis. We will continue our efforts to get the message out that the boating lifestyle is a top recreational activity and give our members the resources they need to succeed.”

The following directors were re-elected to serve another three-year term: Rick Castellini of Marine Max Island Marine Center in Ocean View; Ray Fernandez of Bridge Marina Inc., in Lake Hopatcong; Eric Traber of Pier 47 Marina in Wildwood; Aaron Held of Octopus Yachts; Marine Electrical Systems in Wall; and Greg Wright of John B. Wright Insurance in Manasquan.

Mark Cassidy of Cassidy’s Breton Woods Marina in Brick, George Fuller of George Fuller’s Marine & Machine in Bayville, Karen Gruppuso of Coastal Environmental Consulting, LLC, in Toms River, Pat Salinas of Morgan Marina in Parlin, and Debbie Mooers of Grassy Sound Marina in Grassy Sound will continue as directors.

Active past presidents who will continue to serve include Don Ditzel of Comstock Yacht Sales & Marina in brick, Fred Brueggemann of Key Harbor Marina & Yacht Sales in Waretown, Ed Harrison, Jr., of Baywood Marina, Tom Leaming of Leaming’s Marina in Waretown, Paul Terzian of Causeway Marine Sales in Manahawkin and Rick Trader of Pier 47 Marina in Wildwood.

The regional board of governors will consist of Salinas in the northern region, Leaming from the central region, Traber in the southern area and Fernandez representing the Lake Hopatcong region.

The MTA/NJ also held its sponsor of the year awards at the annual dinner. The Top Sponsor of the Year awards went to Interlux Yacht Finishes of Union, John B. Wright Insurance in Waretown and Manasquan and Travelers Ocean Marine of Edison


Yanmar Names Power Solutions Division Manager

Carl J. Micu will oversee sales and the development of long-term growth plans.

Lippert Components Rebrands

The company’s core line of marine, RV and commercial products, including Lewmar and Taylor Made, will be branded as Lippert.

‘A Strong Finish to a Strong Year’

Booming demand for boats continued as the year ended, with the industry posting the highest number of sales since 2007.

Culture Summit 2.0

Correct Craft will gather “organizational culture drivers” for its second summit, which will take place virtually March 3.

Quick Hits: January 22, 2021

B.A.S.S. now taking noms for ‘21 Bassmaster High School All-American Fishing Team and Yacht Sentinel teams with Fountaine Pajot to equip its lineup with connected boat technology.

Teak Isle Expands Operations

The Florida-based manufacturer purchased a 45,000-square-foot facility and two additional CNC routers.