Skip to main content

NMRA elects new officers

Kathy Munzinger, of Munzinger & Co. in Springfield, Mo., was elected president of the National Marine Representatives Association for 2012-13.

Ken Smaga, of ComMar Sales LLC, Land O' Lakes, Fla., is now vice president. Brandon Flack, of Atlantic Marketing Co., Stonington, Conn., joins the officers as the NMRA's new treasurer. Rob Gueterman, of GSW & Associates, Tampa, Fla., is now secretary. Chris Kelly of Waters & David Co., New Orleans, is past president.

Two new board members will serve in the association's leadership group.

Neal Trombley, of Gulf Atlantic Marketing, Fort Myers, Fla., and Jim Miller, of Haimes Coleman Group, Sunrise, Fla., will serve a three-year term. They join current members Doug Peterson, of The Gartner Group, Fort Lauderdale; Randy Dykstra, of Great Lakes Marine Marketing, Port Clinton, Ohio; Jay Sanders, of West Coast Sales, Vista, Calif.; and Dave Borgaard, of Silverlake West, Las Vegas.

The NMRA was founded in 1960 as a national organization serving independent marine sales representatives and the manufacturers that sell through reps. The professional association functions as an industry voice, promoting networking and the benefits of utilizing reps for sales.

Click here for the full release.



Industry Pushes Back Against Speed Restrictions

A NOAA Fisheries proposal would restrict boats 35 feet and larger to a 10-knot speed limit along the East Coast to protect right whales from vessel strikes.


Magonis Opens Connecticut Office

The Spain-based, electric-boat builder offers an 18-footer that’s available with motors from Torqeedo and Mag Power.


Bill Seeks to Increase Youth Fishing

The bipartisan Coastal Fishing Program Act of 2022 would ease barriers to accessing the outdoors in underserved communities.


Fall Is in Full Swing

With the autumnal equinox ushering in a new season today, the fall boat-show circuit is in high gear. Here are some recent reports and a look at what’s to come.


Manufacturer Confidence Drops

Still, U.S. builders remain largely optimistic despite ongoing constraints with the supply chain and workforce, as well as yesterday’s interest rate hike.


Defender Adds TEMO Electric Boat Motor

Defender Industries is the official U.S. dealer for the French company’s lightweight, portable electric motors.


Twin Disc Sells Belgium Facility

The transmission manufacturer is still using the facility in a leaseback transaction as it looks to reduce costs.