Skip to main content
Updated:
Original:

North Carolina set to increase boat registration fees

Boat registration fees are slated to rise in North Carolina as a new law takes effect Oct. 1.

For boats under 26 feet, the registration fee for one year will be $30, according to an NBC affiliate in North Carolina. For boats over 26 feet, the fee will be $50 a year.

The current fee is a flat rate, regardless of boat size: $15 for one year and $40 for three.

Another addition: Commercial vessels, which were previously exempt from paying boat fees, are now required to pay up.

“Men and women in North Carolina are trying to earn a living out of the water, and every bit of taxes and increase in fees that you put on them is a tremendous burden,” boat owner Justin Keith told the TV station.

Keith said boaters are mostly angry about the process the state government took to pass the law, putting it in the state's budget. He said the state kept the increases under the radar instead of being forthright and open about them and that many boaters are unaware of the law.

Click here for the full report.

Related

Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show Opens Today

The show runs through Oct. 31, and organizers are hoping for a return to pre-Covid success.

Non-profit Takes Aim at Access

Families for Boating works with community advocacy groups to help curb regulatory threats to on-water activities.

Garmin Reports 25 Percent Q3 Growth for Marine

The electronics manufacturer says demand for plotters was the primary driver.

Polaris Reports Flat Q3

Though boat sales were up 18 percent, demand in the company’s other segments was hindered by a lack of product availability, driven by supply-chain issues.

Raymarine Unveils New Radar

The company said it is “disrupting the radar category” with Cyclone, which it will unveil at FLIBS this week.

Don’t Let Up on the Throttle

With a successful fall show season wrapping up soon, the winter schedule may be even more important to your bottom line.