Sailing Hall of Fame set to name 2013 inductees

Publish date:
Social count:

Emmy Award-winning sailing commentator Gary Jobson will announce the 10 sailing inductees to the National Sailing Center & Hall of Fame for 2013 at 5 p.m. Tuesday at Block Island Race Week in Rhode Island.

Joining Jobson, who was inducted in 2011, will be Hall of Fame board member Philip Lotz, who will provide an update on the status of the National Sailing Hall of Fame, which was formed in 2005 and has completed the first phase of its plan to establish a permanent facility on the Annapolis, Md., waterfront.

National Sailing Center Hall of Fame Inductees are American citizens 45 and older who have influenced the sport in the United States in categories such as design, racing, cruising, coaching and administration. Non-citizens are also considered if they have influenced the sport in the United States, and posthumous inductions have occurred.

Starting in 2011, with its historic first induction of 15 legends of the sport of sailing, the Hall of Fame has recognized 24 people who have had a significant impact on the growth and development of the sport.

Click here for the full release.


Sales stagnate in March

Overall boat sales in March were slightly lower compared to last year and year-over-year growth was down by just over 1 percent, according to Statistical Surveys Inc., data that was gathered for 30 states.

Catawba Island show starts today

The Lake Erie Marine Trades Association’s Progressive Catawba Island Boat Show opens a week from today and will run through April 29 with more than 100 power and sailboats on display at the Catawba Island Club on western Lake Erie.