Sea Tow captain is new C-PORT board chairman

C-PORT appointed Capt. John Ward of Sea Tow Destin, Fla., as its new board chairman.
Publish date:
Updated on

The Conference of Professional Operators for Response Towing appointed Capt. John Ward of Sea Tow Destin, Fla., as its new board chairman.

Ward owns and operates Aquanaut Towing & Salvage/Sea Tow Pensacola, Destin, Lake Norman/Wylie and Lake Kerr/Gaston.

He was appointed chairman at C-PORT’s 30th membership meeting, which was held in Florida in November. During the presentation, Ward said his grandfather was a part of the original organization, dating from 1987.

“The marine industry and this great organization has been in my family for generations, and that is something to be proud of,” Ward said in a statement. “I am honored to serve with C-PORT’s board members and help to come up with policy and procedures that will make our industry better.”

The Coast Guard is working to implement a new regulation to ensure that electronic charting systems are on all commercial vessels.

“C-PORT is planning to work with the [Coast Guard] to ensure this is effectively done as it relates to the assistance towing industry,” Ward said. “Considering my experience, I will have a better understanding of its operations, procedures and feasibility on such a topic.”

C-PORT’s 2017 board also includes Robert Butler, Big Bay Marine/Tow Boat U.S. San Diego; Phil Delano, Yachting Specialties/Tow Boat U.S. San Francisco Bay and Delta; Robert Estrada, Estrada Marine Services/Tow Boat U.S. Lake Lanier; Terry Hill, Potomac Marine Inc./Tow Boat U.S. Potomac; Anthony Noury, Hawser LLC/Sea Tow Charleston; Rand Pratt, Hawser Marine Services/Sea Tow Key Biscayne; Jon Gridley, Sea Tow Lake Oconee/Sinclair and Sea Tow Clarks Hill Lake; and Roger Slade, Marine Assist of Port Hadlock/Tow Boat U.S. Port Hadlock.