Sea Tow Foundation names North American sober skipper advisory council

Publish date:

The Sea Tow Foundation has organized a North American Sober Skipper Advisory Council to collaborate on current and future boating safety messaging, as well as future boating safety messages and initiatives primarily involving its popular Sober Skipper campaign.

Launched in 2015 through a grant from the Sport Fish Restoration & Boating Trust Fund, as administered by the U.S. Coast Guard, the program encourages boaters to be sober or to designate a sober skipper.

It now has partnerships with more than 130 organizations in 32 states.

"The Sea Tow Foundation is uniquely positioned to bridge the gap between the non-profit recreational boating safety community and the for-profit boating industry with the launch of the Sober Skipper Advisory Council,” said Executive Director Gail R. Kulp in a statement. “The highly qualified group of individuals that were nominated and subsequently appointed to serve on this inaugural council bring extremely valuable insight and unique perspectives which will help us to strengthen industry messaging, awareness and adoption of boating safety initiatives.”

Members of the inaugural Sea Tow Foundation North American Sober Skipper Advisory Council include: David Connolly, Partner, TH Connolly & Sons Inc.; David Dickerson, VP State Government Relations, NMMA; Jim Emmons, Non-Profit Outreach Grants Director, Water Sports Foundation, Inc.; Kevin Falvey, Editorial Director, Boating Magazine/Bonnier; Mike Hankins, Operations Director, Crevalle Boats; Will Higgins, Public Policy Manager, MRAA; John Jost, Director of Marine Solutions, Ken Cook Co.; Captain Keith Lake, Delivery Captain, MarineMax; Dave Marlow, Director, Product Integrity/Government Affairs, Brunswick Corporation; Captain Frank Stoeber, Team Development Manager, Regal Boats; Nic Thomas, Corporate Director of Dock Operations, Freedom Boat Club; Stephanie Vatalaro, Senior VP Marketing & Communications, RBFF; and Annamarie Worrell, Boat Club & Marketing Manager, Emerald Coast Marine Group.

The group’s executive committee includes Gail R. Kulp, Sea Tow Foundation Executive Director; Michael Wesolowski, Sea Tow Foundation Director of External Relations; Kristen Frohnhoefer, Sea Tow Foundation Board President; and Wanda Kenton Smith, President, Kenton Smith Marketing.

“Our executive committee was extremely pleased by the high level of interest and the positive response when we announced plans a few months ago to establish this council,” said Kulp. “While our new council membership represents broad segments of the boating industry, everyone involved shares a strong passion for and commitment to boating safety. Our executive committee is very excited to get underway and to collaborate with these industry stakeholders in this important effort.”