Sea Tow hands out annual lifesaving awards

Publish date:

Sea Tow Services International presented 12 awards for lifesaving efforts and efforts “above and beyond” the call of duty at an awards banquet on Tuesday.

The event capped the organization’s 2014 annual meeting, which brought Sea Tow operators and their team members to West Palm Beach, Fla., from Monday through Wednesday of this week for training, education and networking.

At an awards banquet, Capt. Peter Martin, chief of the Coast Guard’s Office of Search and Rescue, joined Sea Tow founder and CEO Capt. Joe Frohnhoefer and COO Capt. Joseph Frohnhoefer III in presenting three awards for lifesaving efforts.

This year’s recipients, whose collective efforts helped to save the lives of six boaters and divers, were:

• Capt. Tim Andrews, of Sea Tow Central Hudson (New York)

• Capt. Ernie Croft, of Sea Tow Clearwater Port Richey (Florida)

• Capt. Steve Powers, of Sea Tow Key Largo (Florida).

Martin, Joe Frohnhoefer and Joseph Frohnhoefer III also presented nine awards “For Efforts Above and Beyond” the call of duty during the banquet.

Those awards recognize members of the Sea Tow network who, while on or off duty during the past year, participated in an operational event or incident, including a rescue or community program, that brings great credit to the Sea Tow franchise and network.

The 2014 “For Efforts Above and Beyond” honorees were:

• Capt. Michael Murphy, of Sea Tow Boston (Massachusetts)

• Capt. Kerry Kline, of Sea Tow Central Florida Lakes

• Capt. Cody and Dana Catapano, of Sea Tow Crystal Coast (North Carolina)

• Capt. Cody Catapano, Capt. Stewart Jones and Capt. Corbett Johnson, of Sea Tow Crystal Coast (North Carolina)

• Capt. Bill Barker and Capt. Garrett Moore, of Sea Tow Eastern Long Island (New York)

• Dispatcher Jimmy Cook Jr., of Sea Tow Fort Myers (Florida)

• Capt. Stephen Adams, of Sea Tow Islamorada (Florida)

• Capt. Gary Myette, of Sea Tow South Shore (Massachusetts)

• Capt. Alan Wentworth, of Sea Tow Virgin Islands

“We are extremely proud of our 2014 Sea Tow Award winners, who distinguished themselves by demonstrating their professionalism, bravery and compassion for fellow boaters in the past year,” Joe Frohnhoefer said in a statement. “They are truly ‘local heroes’ in their communities.”