Skip to main content

Sea Tow presents 2018 awards

The Lifesaving award was one of many handed out at the event.

The Lifesaving award was one of many handed out at the event.

Sea Tow Services International honored several of its captains and franchise operators during the company’s annual awards event held November 15.

“I have heard our Sea Tow captains referred to as ‘everyday heroes,’ and I think that title couldn’t be more accurate,” said Joseph Frohnhoefer III, Sea Tow’s CEO, in a statement. “These men and women exemplify Sea Tow’s core values — experienced captains who are leaders in their communities and local experts on safety and education. I couldn’t be prouder of the way they represent themselves, their franchises and the company.”

The event was part of Sea Tow’s 2018 annual meeting. It was held at the Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Resort in Orlando Nov. 13-15. During the festivities, Sea Tow celebrated its 35 anniversary and introduced a new award. The Captain Joe Frohnhoefer Visionary Award was presented to the captain who most exemplifies the vision of Sea Tow’s founder.

Frohnhoefer started the company in 1983 after the U.S. Coast Guard stopped providing non-emergency assistance to boaters. The award in his name went to Captain John McLaughlin, owner of Sea Tow Atlantic City, N.J., and Sea Tow Marco Island, Fla.

Franchise of the Year honors went to Sea Tow Key Largo, Fla., and owners Steve and Cheryl Powers. The Georgia Frohnhoefer Award, named after Sea Tow’s executive vice president to honor an outstanding woman in the organization was presented to Kim Royal of Sea Tow Horseshoe Beach, Fla.,

Sea Tow Southcentral Alaska won Sea Tow Rookie of the Year, while Sea Tow Portland Mid-Coast (Maine) captains Bruce White and Matt Wilder received the Sea Tow Foundation Hero Award. Finally, the Sea Tow Shipmate Award, presented to the franchise owner “who exemplifies enthusiasm, supportive attitude and willingness to help fellow franchises,” was presented to Captain Will Beck owner of Sea Tow Palm Beach, Fla.



Rays of Light

A key indicator of U.S. consumer confidence rose for the first time in four months in August as the economy added 315,000 jobs.


Yanmar Announces Sales, Marketing Hires

The company has hired Bas Eerden as global sales manager and Michele Durkin as global marketing manager.


So, You Want To Be a Yacht Broker

Tips to help build a network through an online presence which is essential to success


Ian Explodes Into Category 4 Hurricane

The historic hurricane is expected to make landfall this afternoon between Naples and Venice, Fla.


Premier Marine Announces New Minnesota Facility

The pontoon builder recently completed a 150,000-square-foot building with new corporate offices and expanded manufacturing facilities.


Scout Boats Recognizes Top Dealers

Seven Seas Yacht Sales of Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., was recognized as the boatbuilder’s top dealer worldwide.


TowBoatUS Vessels Go Pink

Five of TowBoatUS’s response fleet are going pink for the month of October to help increase breast cancer awareness on the water.


Fork in the Channel

Boat registration totals for July mostly revealed considerable weakness compared with a year earlier, and tumbled back into a steeper downtrend than the prior month’s comparisons.


Inflation Stymies Boat Sales

Inventories of new and used boats are improving at the retail level but are still considered comparatively lean, according to the results of the monthly Pulse Report survey.