US Sailing to hold elections at annual meeting


US Sailing's 2010 annual meeting started Wednesday in Phoenix and more than 150 people are expected to participate in this year's event, which runs through Saturday.

More than 50 committee meetings will be held during the event and elections will take place Saturday night. US Sailing is looking to fill three seats on the board of directors.

Online voting is closed, but members can vote in person at the annual meeting. All current US Sailing adult and family members are entitled to vote. Board members serve for a three-year term.

The nominating committee has nominated four candidates to fill two slots on the board. The two nominees that receive the most votes will fill those positions. The candidates are:

  • Maureen McKinnon-Tucker of Marblehead, Mass.
  • Scott Iklé of Geneva, N.Y.
  • Mitch Brindley of Smithfield, Va.
  • Ed Adams of Middletown, R.I.

Susan Epstein of Sharon, Mass., was nominated by the house of delegates and is running unopposed for a three-year term.

Also during the annual meeting, several industry leaders will be recognized for contributions to the sport. Awards to be presented include:

  • The Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy, US Sailing's most prestigious award, is awarded annually to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the sport of sailing in this country in an associated activity.
  • The Harman Hawkins Trophy is awarded to a person who has made outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing in the field of race administration.
  • The Timothea Larr Trophy recognizes a person whose vision and guidance have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of sailor education in the United States.
  • The St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy, emblematic of excellence in race management, originally was awarded by the St. Petersburg Yacht Club in the late 1960s to recognize the club that ran the best regatta.

For information on US Sailing's annual meeting, visit the event website.