Wakeboarding Hall of Fame announces 2018 inductees

Publish date:

The Wakeboarding Hall of Fame has announced its 2018 inductees. Parks Bonifay, Randall Harris, Cobe Mikacich and Sarah Cline were all named. Filmmaker Ronn Seidenglanz, who documented the growth of wake sports, was also named to the Hall of Fame. Lifetime Achievement acknowledgements will be awarded to Bill Porter and Chuck Morrow, two industry retailers and lifelong sport promoters.

“The 2018 induction class includes some of the sport’s most influential and notable visionaries from wakeboarding’s earliest years before it was accepted as the popular action sport it is today,” said a statement.

Several of last year’s inductees, including Tara Hamilton, were not able to attend the 2017 ceremony due to Hurricane Irma. They will be honored in a special presentation before the 2018 class of inductees. The induction ceremony will be held on September 6 at 10:30 a.m. at Surf Expo on in Orlando, Fla. 


NMMA Confirms Industry Growth

NMMA president Frank Hugelmeyer said the boating business grew 12 percent last year during yesterday’s virtual State of the Boating Industry address.

Newport Show Dates Announced

Organizers are planning for an in-person Golden Anniversary edition of the show Sept. 16-19.

Quick Hits: March 5, 2021

The National Association of Manufacturers names Brunswick Corp. CFO Ryan Gwillim to its Board of Directors.

Caught Red-Handed

Two commercial fishermen were jailed for possessing an illegal haul that included 100 undersized lobster tails, which is a felony. Also, fisheries management gets new funding.

Bennington Expands Operations

The pontoon builder plans to add jobs at its new facility in Elkhart County, Ind., and increase manufacturing output.

KVH Industries Names CFO

Longtime telecom financial executive Roger A. Kuebel assumes the position that COO Brent Bruun had held in an interim capacity.