Wakeboarding Hall of Fame announces inductees


The Wakeboarding Hall of Fame today announced its 2019 inductees. The list includes athletes Thomas Horrell, Josh Smith, Gregg Necrason and Leslie Kent, photographer Josh Lechworth, and industry innovators Bruno Rixen and Pat Panakos.

The induction ceremony will be held at Surf Expo at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida, at 3:00 pm on September 5, 2019. Later that evening, at the WakeAwards annual awards gala, a special presentation will honor the new inductees. Past inductees include industry pioneers, innovators and contributors as well as outstanding athletes.


“The 2019 induction class includes some of the sport’s most influential and notable visionaries from wakeboarding’s earliest years before it was accepted as the popular action sport it is today,” said a statement. “Each year the Wakeboarding Hall of Fame fields nominations and through a panel of veteran industry insiders confirms the prestigious class of inductees that will be bestowed the eternal honor of becoming a Wakeboarding Hall of Fame member.”

The Wakeboarding Hall of Fame, a 501(c)3 non-profit, is managed by its Board of Directors. The current board includes Mike Weddington, Shannon Best, Jeff Barton, Shaun Moore, Tommy Phillips, Jim Emmons, Jason Buffalo, Chris Hawkins, Joe Pearson, Rich Goforth, Pat McElhinney, and Steven Fisher.


The Calm Before the Storm?

Although key measures continued on an upward trajectory and unemployment numbers have fallen, the overall outlook for 2020 remains volatile.