Skip to main content

National Sailing Hall of Fame names 2019 class


The National Sailing Hall of Fame announced 10 inductees for 2019.

Capt. John Bonds was a leader in establishing safety protocols and had a global impact on offshore sailing. Thomas F. Day in 1906 founded the Newport Bermuda Race. Robbie Doyle was a sailmaker, and Buddy Friedrichs captured Olympic sailing gold.

Allison Jolly was the first women’s gold medalist in Olympic sailing. Donald McKay is a noted clipper-ship builder. Everett A. Pearson is acknowledged as the “grandfather of fiberglass boat production,” and Doug Peterson is seen as a pioneering yacht designer.

Herbert Lawrence Stone edited and published sailing magazines, and author and world champion sailor Arthur Knapp Jr. is being inducted and recognized with the Hall of Fame’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

The class of 2019 joins 71 previously inductees. “We are proud to recognize and celebrate these inductees and their extraordinary contributions to the sport we love,” Gus Carlson, president of the NSHOF, said in a statement. “Their accomplishments set them apart, and their stories will inspire sailors for generations to come. Their commitment to excellence embodies the spirit and substance of the National Sailing Hall of Fame.”



OneWater Reports Higher Profit, Raises Guidance

The company said revenue, net income, same-store sales and profit margin all improved in its fiscal third quarter.


Mass. Approves Marine Workforce Funding

The Massachusetts Marine Trades Association said the state budget includes $150,000 for training and technical education.


Sterling Acceptance Marks 35 Years

Founded in 1987, the oldest privately owned marine loan origination company is expanding in the Great Lakes and in RV financing.


OCEARCH Names Official Outboard Brand

Yamaha will supply the ocean conservation and research organization with F300, F150 and F60 engines.


Krogen, Summit Hire Sales Manager

Jonathan Cooper will run the brands’ new offices in Seattle and develop a sales team for the West Coast market.


ABYC Publishes Updated Standards

The update includes 20 new and revised standards and technical information reports, including guidance for lithium-ion batteries.


The Cleveland Show Is Staying Put

Shuttered because of the pandemic, the boat show’s I-X Center venue was acquired and will stage the event in a newly reconfigured space.