ABBRA hands out awards in Fort Lauderdale


Jonathan Jones, who recently retired as general manager and executive vice president of Haven Harbour Marina in Rockhall, Md., received the Dennis Snow President’s Award at the American Boat Builders & Repairers Association’s Boatyard Business Conference awards dinner in Fort Lauderdale Beach.

The award is given for significant and lasting contributions to the boatyard and marine service/repair industry.

“It’s no wonder that the boatyard and marina Jonathan managed for 23 years regularly garnered top honors, including Chesapeake Bay Magazine’s ‘Best Resort Marina’ and the coveted national ‘Excellence in Customer Care’ citation from the American Boat Builders and Repairers Association,” ABBRA past president and awards committee chairwoman Pam Lendzion said in a presenting the award.

“Haven Harbour took on Jonathan’s personality when he was the GM and executive VP. The warm, professional attitude and impressive, immaculate facility earned a loyal following, and boaters came from all over the East Coast for Haven Harbour’s first-class repair and maintenance team.”

Georgia boatyard Thunderbolt Marine received ABBRA’s 2014 Boatyard of the Year Award.

Thunderbolt Marine is a full-service repair facility that serves yachts as large as 200 feet. The boatyard is 12 miles from the sea buoy on the Wilmington River, just outside Savannah.

The award is given to a service or repair facility that demonstrates excellence in all facets of the company through commitment to customer service, quality management, stewardship in environmental and safety issues, and positive vendor and employee relations.

“At Thunderbolt we are extremely conscious that before committing to work, we need to be certain that goals expressed in the scope of our work orders are achievable both in terms of world-class execution and quality and then meet or exceed the customers’ expectations,” Thunderbolt Marine president and COO Ralph Heil said in a statement.

Other ABBRA awards and their recipients were:

• Award of Excellence for Customer Care: Saltworks Marine, a full-service boatyard in Marion Mass.

• Award for Excellence in Environmental Practices: Conanicut Marine, Jamestown, R.I.

• Award of Excellence for Commitment to Training: Wendy Mackie, executive director of the Rhode Island Marine Trades Association


Registration for Outdoors Conference Opens

The Outdoor Recreation Roundtable’s June 1-2 virtual conference will include speakers and presenters from government agencies and ORR member partners.

Yamaha Sees Double-Digit Growth in Q1

The marine segment was up 7.4 percent, driven by demand for outboards in North America and Europe but tempered by supply-chain logistics.

Orion Announces SafetyPro Training

The factory-authorized courses are designed “to educate retail associates on how to match a boater’s type of boating with the different signal kits that we offer.”

A Truce on Tariffs?

The E.U. will suspend the June 1 increase of its retaliatory tariffs and agreed to negotiate with the U.S. to end steel and aluminum tariffs.

Argos 3D Forward Looking Sonar

For 20 Years, FarSounder has been developing and manufacturing 3D forward-looking sonar for vessels of all sizes.

Dometic Marine Appoints Executives

The company promotes a 20-plus-year employee and adds a vice president of aftermarket sales and e-commerce.

IMEA Launches Scholarship Program

The International Marine Electronics Alliance aims to recruit students into the field of marine technology.

RBFF Campaign Reels in Awards

The fishing-and-boating advocacy group’s Get on Board campaign was recognized by two national public relations organizations.

Suzuki’s Clean Ocean Project

Testing of the engine manufacturer’s microplastics filtering device continues as it moves closer to production. The company also released its full-year financials.